Reports: Apple To Name Its Coming Tablet Computer: iSlate.com
According to many reports out today Apple is going to name its upcoming Tablet computer “iSlate” and yes it appears to own or control the domain.
The excitement over this new product which is expected to be formally announced on January 26th, caused the shares of Apple to hit an all time high of $209 yesterday.
Concerning the domain, iSlate.com, Back in August 2005 the domain was registered to a domainer:
Registrant:
Eurobox Ltd.
p.o. box 108
St. Petersburg 197022
RU
Then October 2006 the domain was changed registrars to MarkMonitor to a company know as:
Data Docket Inc. (DOM-1498405)
12438 W. Bridger
Boise ID 83642
US
Domain Name: islate.com
By March 2007 the new owner of the domain is the current registrant:
DNStination, Inc. (DOM-1498405)
45 Fremont St. Suite 1400
San Francisco CA 94105
US
I know you saying well then Apple doesn’t own the domain.
But If you look back at the whois history for Mobileme.com which is now owned by Apple you will see the same registrant as is currently showing for islate.com:
Registrant:
Domain Administrator
DNStination, Inc.
303 Second Street Suite 800N
San Francisco CA 94107
US
Also in July 2007 the domain islate.com whois record reflected Apple as the owner:
egistrant:
Apple Inc. (DOM-1498405)
1 Infinite Loop Cupertino, CA 95014 US
Domain Name: islate.com
Registrar Name: Markmonitor.com
Registrar Whois: whois.markmonitor.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.markmonitor.com
Administrative Contact:
Apple Inc. (NIC-14211600) Apple Inc.
1 Infinite Loop Cupertino, CA 95014 US
eddingsk@apple.com +1.4089744286 Fax- +1.4089741560
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Domain Administrator (NIC-14570324) DNStination, Inc.
303 Second Street Suite 800N San Francisco CA 94107 US
admin@dnstinations.com +1.4155319335 Fax- -
Created on…………..: 2004-Oct-30.
Expires on…………..: 2007-Oct-30.
Record last updated on..: 2007-Jul-16 16:00:17.
By August 2008 the domain’s ownership reverted by to its current registrant, DNStination, Inc.
So if your ever contacted by DNStination, Inc about a domain, now you know your dealing with Apple.com
View full post on The Domains
